A Prayer for America’s President

PHOTO CREDIT:  JASON REED – REUTERS     

I didn’t vote for you.  That is okay.  You are still my President.  I am still an American both free and privileged to live in the greatest country on earth.  As a Christian I am freely choosing to do this joyfully.  America is great because God has been good to us, even when Americans do not agree on issues or even who should be President.

So today I pray this humble prayer and pray it may be shared and heard:

I thank my God for you and that we were given a choice to elect you.  For you are the President to all Americans.  I know we are divided on how to solve all the problems that confront us:  Debt, domestic policies, taxes, trade, energy, immigration, social issues, poverty, education, justice, security, foreign policy, international relationships, war, peace, to name just a few.  I’m sure there are a few thousand or so issues I left out.

Still–this much I know is true.   God has appointed you for this time and place in our history.  So this I pray for you:

First that your family will be blessed and shine as an example of what good and faithful promises are in store for families that strive to be strong, love one another, and aim to work through differences in order to remain intact.

I pray that you are surrounded by good advisors who put the good of country ahead of politics and self-promotion and the wisdom and courage to remove those who do not.

I pray that you will be an influence on moral culture and inspire people to value honor and truth.  This means living and speaking truthfully, even when or if the truth hurts you or hurts us.  We are Americans; we are strong. We can take it.

May you be granted God’s favor as you work for us and may you be given wisdom to help heal the various divisions in our country and find compromise in areas of opposing ideologies.  Neither party is completely right nor is either party completely wrong.   Extracting compromise will be your toughest challenge, and quite possibly ours.

I pray that you will listen carefully.  I pray you will hear what the citizens are asking for and what they are not.  I pray all viewpoints will have representation as you lead all parties and as you enact or veto legislation.

I pray you can be an example of fiscal stewardship and policy accountability.  I pray you will be given wisdom and favor to help you in these areas.

I pray you will seek God’s guidance first and seek His righteousness regarding every man and woman you send overseas or even keep in our homeland that are entrusted with the sacred honor and sadly, sometimes sacrificial duty required of those called to keep our country safe and free from harm.  I pray you personally understand the depth of the loss experienced by the families who personally lose an American hero.

I pray for wisdom to know what is worth fighting for and what is simply a tactic to drain us of our most precious resource of all: human life.

I pray you have courage to call evil by its name when it surfaces.  If we can’t identify evil by its calling card, we will not be able to identify who is our enemy.

I pray you will value human life from the baby who has not been born, to the aged citizen who, though they may no longer be productive, contains the wisdom of the ages if we would indeed listen and learn from them.

I pray you will receive and give honor worthy of your high calling.  I pray you always remember the office and the magnificent country you represent every time you shake a hand, sign or veto a piece of legislation, or meet with foreign dignitaries.

I pray you will be a beacon of light, a representation of honor, a speaker of truth, and a living demonstration of both peace and strength, and above all treasure the sacred honor of being called the President of the United States.  May you value your calling as highly as we who love our country value being an American citizen.

As you walk and serve, may you walk with God.   For with God, ALL things are possible.  We know that ALL things, even divisive elections, can be used to work for good.

This is your time.  May God abundantly bless you as you find your way in the pages and memories forever chronicled in our American history.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

