Running With The Bulls

13.2 0267Liz (Age 1) with her very first dog rudy!

     So it’s that time again.  That day where I complete my annual orbit around the sun.  For the 48th time, I’ve made this annual pilgrimage.  And you know what?  Although the vehicle I’m driving has more dings on it, and the paint is somewhat faded, and the vision in the rear view has dimmed a bit, the engine is still strong.  There is still gas in the tank, and a road map with a million more destinations.  Allow me a narcissistic moment here—I’m talking about me! 

LIVE LIFE FEARLESSLY!

13.6 0667      There may be some miles on these here heels,  but the will is still strong.  The heart is chipped in places, but it is undeterred.  The soul still dreams and hasn’t given up.  Not by a long shot.  Not even close.  In fact, some days I feel like I just emerged from a nice little dip in the Fountain of Youth.  Then the mirror quietly chuckles. 

Today I did some research on myself.  You see I am a Taurus.  A bull.  Stubborn.  Determined.  A lover of beauty.   A heightened awareness of sensation according to Wikipedia.  (LizLogicTranslation:  Seen as either obsessive-compulsive or hyper-sensitive to others).  Self-indulgent and lazy.  (Ouch!  But I seem so busy all the time!  Doesn’t that qualify me as non-lazy?)

13.3 0667SUNBATHING AND CONTEMPLATING LIFE!

I have a lot of Taurean friends.  I have at least six sweet friends or family members born on my birthday.  I was born on the 18th birthday of a favorite aunt that I’m most close to.  I share a birthday with actor Dennis Hopper (think 1960s Easy Rider) and dance instructor Derek Hough (my favorite dancer on Dancing With The Stars, –a show I don’t like that much except I like this about him—he perfects dance, he’s beautiful, and he wins!)  No wonder I like him.  I share my birthday with Andrea Corr, an Irish singer who has sung with my other favorite Irish singer.   Yes, the Ayatolla Khomeini and I were born under the same sign and on my PMS days share the same temperament.  Also the actress Paige Turco was born on the same exact day as me.  Paige was breaking into soap opera stardom as I become a mom the same year (1987).  I never saw her in the soaps, but my oldest son and I watched her when he was just a little boy play the reporter April O’Neil in Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.  In a twist of twisted fate I also was born on the same day as Trent Reznor from Nine Inch Nails.

LAUGH LINES BEAT WORRY LINES

13.9 0667        Though I have no preference for NIN music, I once had a very vivid dream about Trent in which I told him, “Maybe you’re looking for the answers in all the wrong places.”  I awoke from the dream so startled, I had to know more.  Why in the world would I dream about HIM of all people?  I confessed to my husband my oddly bizarre dream (no shame here, we can’t help what we dream!).  I was so disturbed by my sleep disturbance of Trent Reznor, I had to know more.  So I Googled him.  And whoa!  It turns out we share the same birthday!  In fact, the exact same birthday!  He too was born on the same day of the same year.   More oddly, he actually wrote the lyrics for a song called “Hurt” that Johnny Cash sings.  I’ve been a Johnny Cash fan since I was a little girl, but this song has always been one of the most soulful ones and little known that he sings.  I find this song, one of the last songs Johnny Cash ever recorded, his most beautiful by far!

       I’m not a superstitious person, though I do believe there is no such thing as coincidence.  Everything happens for a reason in life. All things are connected!  All the beauty, all the pain—there are lessons in both.  Gratitude and pleas for mercy walk hand in hand in life.  I believe we are indeed part of a Master Plan and God our creator holds the key.

13.7 0667DON’T OVERTHINK THINGS!

Here’s a few more things I learned about me, just another travelling bull charging towards my destiny from Wikipedia:

Taurus is the one who has immense perseverance, even when others have given up, the Taurus rages on. Solid and persistent, just like the bull, which is Taurus’ well suited symbol. Taurus’s have a well known reputation for being stubborn, which is not necessarily a bad thing. The stubborn streak can cause Taurus to butt heads and conflict with other strong character types. Taurus are not fond of change. They like the familiar and routine comfort of life. Taurus is easy going and not one to pick a fight but should some poor souls attempt to provoke Taurus, the wrath will be known, for they have a temper underneath the calm surface. Taurus are very responsive to their surroundings. They like decorations, color, anything that appeals to all the senses. Taurus like possessions and the Taurus home is nicely decorated with lots of things. Taurus are down to earth, they do not like gaudy, flashy or over the top things. They prefer comfortable and creative settings and objects. Taurus likes security, in every aspect of their lives from home, to love, to career. Taurus can be secretive, opinionated and stingy. Taurus tend to be self-indulgent and lazy, Taurus are master procrastinators of the astrology zodiac! They do however have a strong, persistent drive that comes to life when they choose, and no one would ever know that they are lazy. The secret to this is that their laziness is pushed aside when it comes to themselves. [3]

    Wow!  That kind of seems sort of spot-on Wikipedia!  I boldfaced everything I totally agree with and left alone the “ouch” comments opinions, as Taureans are also very warm-blooded, prone to hyper-sensitivity, and fragile when pierced with the arrows of tender truth!   

Lazy?  Hmmm…I struggle with this.  Is spending time doing what you what you love lazy?

I don’t know if you have any bulls in your life.  If you do, we’re easier to deal with than you think.   Find the beauty inside of us.  Admire our tenacity.   Respect our will.  Buckle up!  Get rested so you’ll always be ready for adventure!  And on stormy days, please give us a wide berth.  Chances are if you run with the bulls, after the dust clears, you just may find a trail of roses left behind!

And last but not least…a shout out of love to the “mama bull” who raised me and instilled the love of the written word!002 0965

OKAY…so this isn’t exactly a feel good happy birthday song, but perhaps if you have any Taurean blood in you too, you may see that beauty is the flower that blooms from that which sometimes hurts us.  And if you’re already a Johnny Cash fan, I hope you haven’t missed this jewel:

Leave a comment